Nothing much going on… might as well make some hinges :)

In the last installment, I showed the latest box I’m working on, it’s now time to make a pair of hinges for it…
But, and it seems like there’s always a but, I had a problem with the fitted panel for the lid. When I cut the tenon around the thing, to fit into the side dadoes, I was trying to “sneak up on it”, once, twice, three times and it seemed like nothing was changing. So I gave it one of those “All or Nothing” taps to the Table Saw fence and it cut All too far!Unflattering view of box lid
The gap isn’t even a 1/8” but, to me, it looks like the Great Divide!!
So I resolved to make some small inserts to fit.Box top opened up to show Mahogany filler strips I grabbed some of the ubiquitous Mahogany scraps and filed them to thickness,Thinning strips to size
Then planed them with Grand Dad’s trusty old #220 to width…Planing strips to width with my trusty #220
It’s then a pretty simple matter to touch them with a spot of glue to hold them in place, while I make and add inserts for the underneath side of the lid…Clamp-up of filler strips
I readjusted the fence when I was cutting the bottom and, happily, only the top needs this…
Somewhere in between playing with these little sticks, I did manage to complete some hinges too…
Here the Oak scraps are drawn and drilled, and ready for the Scroll Saw work…Hinges drilled and ready for Scroll work
Here they are, ready for attaching…Latest Hinges
Really slow going on this one, I’ve been lucky if I get 4-5 hours a week to have some fun in the shop… but being busy is good too!! :)

This entry was posted in Just for Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.